Two Sweetwater County students graduate from UW’s first construction management program

LARAMIE – Twenty-seven University of Wyoming students, including two students from Sweetwater County, are the first to earn a Bachelor of Science degree in construction management through the UW College of Engineering and Applied Science.

Karson Beutel of Green River and Wyatt Yenney of Rock Springs were among the graduates. The graduates, a team of experienced teachers, teach according to a teaching methodology called “Teaching with Industry” in the 19 integrated courses. The program is designed to help bridge the gap between theory and practice and to be more applicable to the real-world construction management environment.

The construction management program, established in 2019, is among the fastest growing programs at UW, with 150 students. A fourth cohort of 70 students is expected to enroll for the fall semester.

Advertisement – The story continues below…

“The Construction Management program underscores the purpose of a UW college of engineering and applied science by preparing students to be leaders who can think critically, collaborate effectively, seek solutions innovative and to be examples of excellence in their communities”, says François Jacobs. , Associate Professor in the Department of Civil and Architectural Engineering and Construction Management.

The Construction Management program provides hands-on training and opportunities for students to earn certifications alongside their studies in this growing industry. Program students earn several industry-recognized certificates, including 30-hour OSHA training; Procore; LEED; a homebuyer training certificate; and certification from the American Institute of Constructors. All are a built-in requirement in the construction management program, says Jacobs.

Graduates of the program, listed by hometown, are:

Aiken, SC—Amy Daugherty.
Beulah — Yuli Virginets.
Carrollton, Ga.—Charles Britton.
Casper—Austin Anderson and Matthew Loundagin.
Colorado Springs, Colorado—Nicholas Harrison.
Cowley—Jared May.
Craig, Colorado—Ryan Zimmerman.
Evanston—James Lennon and James Majors.
Gillette-Colter Barton.
Great Falls, Virginia – Andreas Lipp.
Green River — Karson Beutel.
Helen, Mont. —Jaret Falkowski.
Kaycee—Ryan Walker.
Kiowa, Colorado—Landon Kellogg.
Laramie—Keene Aldridge, Matthew Burkhart, Brady Griffin, Colton Larson, and Josie Stolzenberg
Littleton, Colorado—Grace Collins.
Pass Christian, miss. —John Putnam.
Powell-Tyler Larsen.
Rock Springs—Wyatt Yenney.
Sundance-Steven Jones.
Thornton, Colorado—Ricardo Damian.

For more information about UW’s construction management program, visit

Comments are closed.