Significant damage to civilian infrastructure in several areas as a result of Russian strikes

British Prime Minister Boris Johnson speaks to the media in London on April 7. (Chris J. Ratcliffe/Bloomberg/Getty Images)

Russia has banned British Prime Minister Boris Johnson, his predecessor Theresa May, Foreign Secretary Liz Truss, Defense Secretary Ben Wallace and other members of the British government from entering the country in response to penalties.

The Russian Foreign Ministry attributed its decision on Saturday to the “unprecedented hostile actions of the British government, expressed, in particular, in the imposition of sanctions against senior officials of the Russian Federation”.

“London’s unbridled information and political campaign aimed at the international isolation of Russia, creating the conditions to contain our country and strangle the Russian economy” are behind the decision, the ministry said in a statement. communicated.

“Essentially, the British leadership is deliberately escalating the situation around Ukraine, pumping up the kyiv regime with lethal weapons and coordinating similar NATO efforts, the ministry added.

“London’s instigation is also unacceptable, which strongly pushes not only its Western allies, but also other countries to introduce large-scale anti-Russian sanctions, which are however senseless and counterproductive,” the ministry said. .

A bit of context: The UK has joined other Western countries in imposing restrictive sanctions on Russian individuals and institutions in connection with President Vladimir Putin’s invasion of Ukraine.

In March, British Chancellor Rishi Sunak announced a ban on luxury goods exports to Russia and tariffs on Russian goods worth more than $1 billion.

Sunak added that the UK would also deny Russia and Belarus access to its most-favoured-nation trade tariff for hundreds of their exports, depriving the two countries of key benefits of EU membership. ‘World organization of commerce.

The additional 35% customs duty on Russian goods will be applied to imports, including vodka, steel, artwork and fur.

Days later, the UK revoked the broadcasting license of the Kremlin-backed propaganda network RT, according to a statement from regulators.

the statement Regulator Ofcom said its investigation into RT revealed that its licensee, ANO TV Novosti, was not fit and suitable to hold a UK broadcast license.

And earlier this month, Britain sanctioned two “key Russian oligarchs” linked to Russian billionaire Roman Abramovich, freezing up to $13 billion in assets linked to Eugene Tenenbaum and David Davidovich.

The sanction was “the largest asset freezing action in UK history”, the Foreign Office said in a statement.

The British government added that the sanctions had been coordinated with authorities in Jersey, which CNN said froze more than $7 billion in assets “suspected to be linked” to Abramovich.

“We are tightening the ratchet on Putin’s war machine and targeting the circle of people closest to the Kremlin. We will continue to impose sanctions until Putin fails in Ukraine. Nothing and no one is on the table,” British Foreign Secretary Liz Truss said in the statement.

Britain has sanctioned 106 Russian oligarchs, family members and associates since February, statement says added.

Comments are closed.