Local students are part of the inaugural cohort of the Peter Kiewit Foundation Engineering Academy

LINCOLN – Forty freshmen from the College of Engineering at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln – including 10 based at the Scott Campus in Omaha – have been chosen for the inaugural cohort of the Peter Kiewit Foundation Engineering Academy in Nebraska.

Of these 40 students, four are from central Nebraska.

They are: Oscar Bernabe Mateo of Grand Island; construction management; and Sidney Haferner, biological systems engineering, Jade Romero, computer science and engineering, and Alexandria Vohland, Biological Systems Engineering, all from Kearney.

Over 100 applications have been received for the program. .

People also read…

Academy students will receive a scholarship covering full tuition and fees for four years and may receive funding for a fifth year on a case-by-case basis. The scholarship will also cover student accommodation and meals for up to four years in a hall of residence. Academy students will have a co-life experience during their first two years in the program, enroll in cohort-specific first- and second-year seminars, and receive success coaching from staff dedicated to the program. Students will also receive a $500 book allowance at the university bookstore and a laptop computer for their studies.

The program is funded and developed in partnership with the Peter Kiewit Foundation, an independent private philanthropic trust that has awarded more than $750 million in grants and scholarships since its inception in 1979.


Buena Vista University in Storm Lake, Iowa crowned its 2022 kingship at the September 30 coronation. Landon Weber of Hastings has been named Homecoming Royalty. Weber is a senior specializing in mathematics education. The reunion court was made up of 11 seniors, with the royalty winners chosen by the student body.

Comments are closed.